[Date Prev] [Date Next] [Thread Prev] [Thread Next]

Re: Second death

May 11, 1998 07:34 AM
by Marshall Hemingway III

In a message dated 98-05-09 18:42:35 EDT, you write:

<< "Kama-rupa" (the body of the "man of  desire") >>

The Kama Rupa is the Astral Body associated with desire and emotion. The
model-body, the conduit for Prana, is really the Pranamayakosha or Etheric
Double. The development of the Kama-Rupa is concurrent that of the physical
and etheric form and does not suddenly come into being after the death of the
Sthula Sarira (the Physical Body). Hence, we always have the four bodies,
Physical, Etheric, Astral and Mental while in physical incarnation. At death,
the consciousness moves to the Astral Body, while the Physical disintegrates
along with the Etheric Double (the shade sometimes seen over graveyards). Man
is either awake or asleep on the Astral Plane depending on his spiritual
state. When desires have been played out, Man moves on to Devachan, a
collective term for the four lower subplanes of the Mental Plane.


[Back to Top]

Theosophy World: Dedicated to the Theosophical Philosophy and its Practical Application